h1

Watch the Throne Review

August 8, 2011

OMG lolz Watch the Throne is here.  It is clearly the greatest hip-hop album ever.  The money chaser, joe camel look alike Jay-Z, with the most egotistical over hyped, over rated rapper to ever be in the game Kanye West (I can make the same argument for Jay-Z) have combined their same non-progressing flows and lyrical themes to create something that has never been done before, an album with TWO heavyweight rappers. I wonder if Watch the Throne is the first album ever to have two rappers on it.  Read my review after the jump.To be honest, I haven’t even listened to Watch the Throne yet.  And I probably never will.  These guys aren’t that good.  There are clearly more original and better hip-hop guys out there.  So why waste my time on an album that will either be considered a classic or as us backpackers will say, a over rated album.  It probably has some good songs and it probably has some bad songs.  Don’t really care.  Anyway I’m just going to make a list of albums that I’ll presumably believe to be better.

Illmatic, Things Fall Apart, Midnight Marauders, Low End Theory, Atliens, Aquemini, Word…Life, Slaughterhouse(Masta Ace), Ready to Die, Enter the Wu:36 chambers, Liquid Swords, Only Built for the Cuban Linx, it takes a nation of millions to hold us back, fear of a black planet, amerikkka’s most wanted, straight outta compton, funcrusher plus, college dropout(not kidding here), illadelph halflife, entroducing, de la soul is dead, 3 feet high and rising, the grind date, mhmm food, nocturnal, dah shinin, stress:the extinction agenda, wrath of the math, sun rises in the east, the entire gang starr discography, reasonable doubt, stillmatic, god’s son, the score,lucy ford EP, seven’s travels, I’ll sleep when you’re dead, hell hath no fury, bastard, earl, expansion team, enta da stage, lifestyles of da poor n dangerouz, chronic, chronic 2001, slime shady lp, marshall mathers lp, I got next, return of the boom bap, we can’t be stopped,paid in full, don’t sweat the technique, monkey barz, jesus price superstar, road to riches,runaway slave, stunts blunts and hip-hop, everything is everything, the miseducation of lauryn hill and I guess I will end with………resurrection.

Nope wait I’ll continue.
The 6xth sense, 3rd eye vision, I wish my brother george was here, ascension, 93 til infinity,rasassination, mecca and the soul brother, petestrumentals, muddy waters,Whut thee album, supreme clientele, brooklyn zoo, black sunday, cypress hill III temple of boom, it’s dark and hell is hot, and then there was X, money power and respect, legal drug money, get rich and die tryin, infamous, something by lil wayne, by any means necessary,criminal minded, the message, paul’s boutique, ill communication, the cactus album and now I’ll end with the minstrel show, felt 2: tribute to lisa bonet, murs 3:16th edition, AWOL, doe or die and the Testament.

I def missed a whole lot, but whatever.  The point is before you go out and hear watch the throne, realize there are plenty of equally, if not better albums out there that probably have not been listened to by critics, who are quick to say how great a jay or yeezy album is without ever thinking of other material.  Fucking stupid if you ask me.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I might actually go listen to Watch the Throne so I won’t be a hypocrite or maybe not.

Don’t get me wrong, I listened and reviewed Otis, and thought it was decent.  But I’m not jumping out any windows.

3 comments


  1. Rasassination!



Leave a Reply

