h1

Deftones Best Buy Theater concert Review

May 16, 2011

Deftones>you.  Hands down, the best show of the year and probably better than all my other favorite shows ever, including Medeski, Rage(well maybe not rage), 311, Quest, De La, etc…  The production and quality of the Deftones live set is unmatched. This show was fucking brutal.  Two days later and I am in more pain and stiffness than I have ever been in before.  Here is the setlist:

  1. Diamond Eyes
  2. CMND/CTRL
  3. Rocket Skates
  4. Around the Fur
  5. Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)
  6. My Own Summer (Shove It)
  7. Lhabia
  8. Lotion
  9. Digital Bath
  10. Royal
  11. You’ve Seen The Butcher
  12. Sextape
  13. Risk Play
  14. Beauty School
  15. When Girls Telephone Boys
  16. Minerva
  17. Hole in the Earth
  18. Elite
  19. Change (In the House of Flies)
  20. Passenger
  21. Headup
  22. Encore:
  23. Engine No. 9
  24. 7 Words

My favorite tracks were Digital Bath, Minerva, CMND/CTRL, Passenger with the lead singer of dillinger escape plan, hole in the Earth, Elite, lhabia and you’ve seen the butcher.  The fucking pits were out of control.  I was literally forced to crowd surf with a bloody nose and bruised rib just to survive the song Royal.  So fucking sick.

Stephen Carpenter’s guitar sounds would blow out the ears of the timid.  Chino’s screeching growl would rip your heart out if you’re some pussy bitch who ONLY likes one genre of music.  During head up I not only witness a 200 pound guy get knocked on his feet, but I saw a 90 pound girl pick him up and then start to swing.

When I wasn’t crowd surfing or getting a bloody nose I was able to head bang to the crazy ghost note rhythms of Abe on the drums.  God damn the deftones are so versatile and unique.  They encompass everything that is amazing with rock, live shows, maturity in music and growth.  Big surprise of the night was When Girl Telephone boys, I did not see that one coming and it was a great surprise. I don’t even care that I have yet to see Hexagram live.  I feel like when I do, I will feel completed, but for now, I will enjoy this sweet memory of the Deftones.  Shout out to Mahopac, the Rat and the Wicklow Mountains for rocking the fuck out for two hours and crushing drinks to make up for all pbr hipsters leave unfinished.

Sorry for the sound quality.  But then again, you should just go see them live.

Passenger with the singer of Dillinger Escape Plan: some adlibbing in the beggining from Chino:

FOR EVYPOO:

Around 6:18 you can see me fucking shit up.  Also enjoy the Deftones cover of Fireworks by Katy Perry:

Buy every fucking Deftones album now right here

P.S. Even though I am a fan of Tyler, the Creator.  I liked to see any of those kids from his shows survive the pit to Elite.

Up next. Kyuss, Sonic Youth and Soundgarden!

Leave a Reply

