h1

Single Review: Jessie J f. B.O.B. – Price Tag

March 28, 2011

Look, I could care less about Jessie J.  This type of song’s clearly not made for me, and one of the things I promised I’d never do when I made this website was do dumb and exploitative reviews of songs I knew I would never like in the first place.

I’m using this review as a platform to extend a personal* fuck you to B.O.B.  Don’t come on a pop song and fucking brag to me about how you’re not materialistic when you’ve sold out harder and given up your integrity more than any other rapper in the past five years to make a quick buck.  I’d rather listen to the Soulja Boy’s and the Lil’ B’s of the world 100 times over before I listened to your Atlantic-records engineered, Alex da Kid-produced, Haley Williams-sung garbage assembly-line manufactured excuse for music.  I strongly believe that this Clear Channel-approved brand of safe music is infinitely more damaging to the youth than anything Tipper Gore rallied against; it promotes a herd mentality and dampers independence, creativity and original thought.

I think it’s utterly condescending that this motherfucker put out a phoned-in token rap verse on a pop hit telling me that he’s “all about the love” – he probably wrote it in all of 25 seconds on his Iphone on the way to the bank to cash his thousandth check from “Nothin On You.”  Sacrificing your artistic integrity is fine – have fun – but don’t rub your carefully manufactured corporate persona in my face to tell me that you’re above making money.

1/10.

PurchaseItunes

*  On the internet, of course 🙂

One comment

  1. […] Whiiite An unpretentious look at new music, delivered by passionate writers « Single Review: Jessie J f. B.O.B. – Price Tag Censorship or bad musicians? March 29, 2011 […]



Leave a Reply

