h1

Single Review: Big K.R.I.T. – Dreamin

March 24, 2011

Fuck, I really feel like a grinch here.  K.R.I.T.’s given me every reason to root for him: he raps with sincerity, he’s versatile, he doesn’t look to be changing his approach anytime soon and his self-produced beats are dripping with soul.  Despite all of this, he’s somehow getting popular.  This is the first single from his upcoming Return of 4Eva mixtape and he’s talking about his dreams when he was a young’n; as some clown on Youtube called it, it’s a southern version of Juicy.  The lyrics are fine, but the production, vocal sample and chorus are all underwhelming and the song ends up being way too subdued for one that should have been a statement.  Unfortunately doesn’t have the impact of a “Something” or “Hometown Hero.”

Return of 4Eva out March 28th.

6/10.

DL:  Big K.R.I.T. – Dreamin’ (160 kbps)

Bonus:

DL:  Big K.R.I.T. – My Interpretation (192 kbps)

SimilarBig K.R.I.T. – K.R.I.T. Was Here

Leave a Reply

