h1

Upcoming Releases I’m Looking Forward To

January 12, 2011

In 2011, release dates are pretty fickle given the nature of the internet and the propensity of albums being pushed back.  Still, it’s fun as a music fan to anticipate, so here are some upcoming releases I’m looking forward to, with my lolzy attempts at genre categorization:

-01/17 – The Decemberists – The King is Dead (Folk?)I used to be big into these guys, but I haven’t given them a listen since the Crane Wife.  If I see this one getting good reviews, I’ll check it out.

– 01/24 – Adele – 21 (British Indie/Soul) Can’t wait for this one, my favorite singer out now.  First single “Rolling in the Deep” and the XX Remix are both fiya.

– 02/07 – James Blake – James Blake (British Vocal Electronica/Dubstep) – This one’s out on the internet already, I haven’t given it a listen yet though.  Love the first single “Limit to Your Love.

– 02/07 – The Streets – Computers and Blues (British Electronica/Hip-Hop?) – Apparently this is his last album?  I actually bought his second album way back when, but never listened to anything else from him.  Some solid cuts on there – give him much credit for pioneering his own style.

– 02/08 – Slaughterhouse – EP?? (Hip-Hop) – Hoping this will be better than its single suggests.

– 02/15 – Saigon – The Greatest Story Never Told (Hip-Hop)- Jeeeeeeeeesus, I remember being excited for this one back in 2005.  Hoping it’ll be good, I haven’t listened to Sai in a few years.  This one should have came out three days or so after his first spot on Entourage.  Yet another example of major labels having no idea how to manage rappers.  Saigon’s rell talented though, and if Just Blaze is behind the boards it should be a solid album.

– 02/22 – Toro Y Moi – Underneath The Pine (Indie/Funk) – As I anticipated, his first album Causers of This was a grower.  That one was electronic, but from the sounds of his first single “Still Sound“, he’s going for a more organic funky sound here.  Really looking forward to this one, should be a great spring album.

– 03/01 – Lykke Li – Wounded Rhymes (Indie?) – Besides her spot on So Far Gone, I’ve never listened to Lykke Li – heard good things about her and keeping an eye out for this one.

– 03/01 – Kanye West & Jay-Z – Watch The Throne (Hip-Hop/French Pretentious Trap Musik)First single from this came out yesterday – hoping that someone at Roc Nation is gonna be exercising quality control on this one and we won’t have another Best of Both Worlds situation.  Giving them (or Kanye) the benefit of the doubt for now, though.

– 03/08 – Raekwon – Shaolin v. Wu-Tang (Hip-Hop) – Posted the title track from this this morning.  This album should be awesome.

– 03/08 – Lupe Fiasco – Lasers (Hip-Hop) – Lupe’s an idiot, but he’s still one of the best rappers out now.  His mixtape from ’09 was ridiculous and he’s 2 for 2 on albums so far – no reason to think this won’t be awesome.

– 03/?? – The Strokes – TBD (Indie?) – Hipsters still love these guys cause we all listened to them in ninth grade.  This group went from severely overrated to severely underrated – I love everything they’ve put out.

– 03/?? – J. Cole – Cole World (Hip-Hop) – I gave Friday Night Lights a listen and I”m lukewarm on it, but a lot of people are swearing by this dude – I’ll keep an eye out for this one.

Random Albums (that maybe hopefully should be?) Coming Out, Release Date TBD:

Big K.R.I.T. – TBA (Hip-Hop) – First, a live band version of Whiiite favorite K.R.I.T. Was Here.  And perhaps his Def Jam debut later in the year?

– Curren$y – Pilot Music 3 / Muscle Car Chronicle / Covert Coupe (Hip-Hop) – You know I’m a huge fan.

De La Soul – TBA (Hip-Hop) – How dope would this be??? The Grind Date was awesome – they have “grown man rap” down to a science.

Drake – Take Care (Hip-Hop) – I go out of my way to shit on him, but he’s still very talented.  So Far Gone was amazing – I just hope he can doesn’t fall victim to his own legacy (i.e. taking himself too seriously and making the songs he wants to make v. making songs he thinks he should make)

Fleet Foxes – TBA (Folk) – Debut album was fantastic, can’t wait.

Flying Lotus – TBA (Electronica) – Cosmogramma was one of my favorite albums of ’10 – looking forward to anything he does.

Jay Electronica – TBA (Hip-Hop) – God forbid this man actually releases something.

Killer Mike/El-P – TBA (Hip-Hop) – I love left-field collaborations like this.  El-P’s remix of Jeezy’s “I Got This” was amazing – can’t wait to see what he does to complement Killer Mike’s eternal growl.

Lil’ Wayne – The Carter IV(Hip-Hop) – Six Foot Seven Foot was amazing.  Hoping he can come into the booth inspired.

Madvillain – TBA (Hip-Hop) – Debut album is one of my favorite albums ever.  Check out this clip of two new songs from the Stones Throw radio podcast.

Panda Bear – Tomboy (Indie) – Damn, Avey Tare’s solo jawn went so under the radar that I actually felt bad.  Panda’s will probably be one of the most acclaimed of the year.  So it goes.

Pharaohe Monch – War (Hip-Hop) – 2007’s Desire was a solid album – hoping he can bring the energy on this one.

Pusha T – Fear of God (Hip-Hop) – Now pick your next move, you could leave or live wit’ it.

Radiohead – TBA (Indie) – Still one of my favorite bands of all time.

Random Axe (Black Milk, Guilty Simpson & Sean P) – TBA (Hip-Hop) – Is Prodigy out of jail yet?  Until then, this is music to punch people in the face to.  Damn, has it really been four years since Jesus Price Superstar??  This album could really be something special – hope they tied everything together.

Rick Ross – God Forgives, I Don’t (Hip-Hop) – How good is this album title?

Santigold – TBA (Indie) – I haven’t listened to her album in like 2 years – is it actually good or is it one of those scene albums?

Wiz Khalifa – TBA (Hip-Hop) – I have no reason to be mad at his success or his growing legion of fans.  Dude makes accessible, fun music.  Kush & OJ was the jam of this past summer and I bet this will be the album of this summer.  Our generation’s Snoop Dogg.

Yelawolf – TBA (Hip-Hop) – I’m not sure how I feel about him at this point, but he has a unique flow.  I’ve only heard him from the BET Cipher and the Big Boi song – still gotta check out his mixtape.

Leave a Reply

