h1

Skream – Outside the Box

December 21, 2010

I decided to get this album on a whim last week because I enjoyed his remix of La Roux’s “In For the Kill” so much.  Despite some subpar guest vocal appearances, this album is awesome.  Though much of it has the cold and isolated British sound (similar to Burial), this album is really enjoyable and accessible because it’s so inventive musically.  Skream tries his hand at dubstep, drum-n-bass, and instrumental hip-hop.  This album was really refreshing to hear – electronic music has been so gimmicky and derivative recently that I was happy to hear an album centered around melodic progressions rather than obnoxious basslines and “epic” buildups and beatdrops.  I was going to shit on the Rusko album but I haven’t given it a fair chance yet.  The only negative thing I could say about this album is that it’s more musically-interesting than emotionally-investing, but I’m fine with that.  I’m honestly surprised this album wasn’t bigger, but I’ll be on the lookout for anything he’s dropping in 2011.

DL:  Skream – Listenin to the Records on My Wall

DL:  Skream – Reflections

DL:  Skream – The Epic Last Song

BONUS:

DL:  La Roux – In For The Kill (Skream’s Let’s Get Ravey Remix)

 

3 comments

  1. […] 12.  La Roux – In for the Kill (Skream’s Let’s Get Ravey Remix) […]


  2. […] Similar:  Skream – Outside the Box […]


  3. […] Similar:  La Roux – In For The Kill (Skrillex) / (Skream) […]



Leave a Reply

