h1

N.E.R.D. – Hypnotize U (Nero Remix)

December 8, 2010

I’m still ambivalent about dubstep at this point.  I support it as an upcoming genre and think it has a lot of potential*, but at the same time I see it already being exploited by producer X slapping a fat bassline on whatever song he chooses and calling it a remix.  And seeing people eat that shit up because dubstep is so “in” right now.  I guarantee if you took the next hour to listen to the newest “dubstep” tracks without ever listening to it before, you would be sick of the genre by the end of the hour because most of the songs sound exactly the same.

This is a perfect example of what a dubstep remix should be.  Nero’s mix gives the song an entirely different feel than the original (which was kind of campy and only got attention because Daft Punk produced it IMO).  Awesome synths, awesome basslines, awesome buildup.

DL:  N.E.R.D. – Hypnotize U (Nero Remix)

*I only started listening to dubstep recently, but I would be supremely fucking pissed if I listened to Burial a few years ago, got excited about all the possibilities of this new genre, and then saw it blow up like this.  It’s really funny because besides the tempo, there’s nothing really similar between “underground” dubstep and the wonky stuff that’s popular now.  I sympathize as an underground hip-hop fan, but at least the music is the same with hip-hop lol.  I also find it really funny that most bloggers (and people in the blogging “community”) have a holier than thou approach towards everyone and everything in music but support music that’s just as derivative and exploitative as what’s on the Top 40.

4 comments

  1. […] best that Drake is nowhere to be found here.  This sounds just like Burial, who I big-upped in my Nero post yesterday.  Sounds like I’ll have to upload some of his stuff […]


  2. […] Related:  N.E.R.D. – Hypnotize U (Daft Punk Remix) […]


  3. […] bitching about dubstep the other day, I wanted to put up a song from a few years back that exemplifies a different type of dubstep quite […]


  4. […] – Evan Agovino, 12/8/10 […]



Leave a Reply

